DES MOINES WOMEN'S CLUB ANNUAL MEETING HOYT SHERMAN PLACE THEATER WEDNESDAY, MAY 5, 2021

PROGRAM

Call to order of the Annual Meeting by President Pat Henson at 10:00 AM when a quorum of 51 members was determined.

- Pat Henson welcomed Robert Warren, Hoyt Sherman Place Executive Director, to our Annual Meeting and thanked him for attending.
- Eileen Boggess was announced at the new DMWC Club Coordinator
- The present Executive Board and Board of Directors were introduced:

Executive Board: President Pat Henson, President-Elect Chris Foss, Communications VP Joyce Perkins, Fundraising VP Wendy Prigge, Membership VP Kathy Crall, Recording Secretary Carol Corrigan, Corresponding Secretary Joann McCracken Young, Treasurer Michelle Clark, and Past-President Jean Shires

Board of Directors: Sheila Sapienza 2021, Sheila Bingaman 2021, Mary Ellen Imlau 2022, Karen Sievers 2022, Pam Deeds 2023, Marti Puff 2023, and Carol Corrigan 2023

Parliamentarian: Toni Van Cleve

Business Meeting Reports

- **Joyce Perkins Communications VP** reported the email problem with some members not receiving emails has been corrected. Contact Eileen Boggess to provide news for the E-Blast.
- Wendy Prigge Fundraising VP reported 2020-2021 was a challenging year for fundraising due to the pandemic. The Parking Lot Pick-Up Lunches were the main source of fundraising for the Club. Goodes Greenhouse provided donations of 10% of members' purchases with a coupon at Christmas.
 - Spring Planting will provide another 10% donation to the DMWC the week of May 10-16 at Goodes with a coupon. Other vendors are being explored for purchase of plants.

 Bean Soup sales provided a small income. Some soup was donated to the lowe Food Bank.
 - Bean Soup sales provided a small income. Some soup was donated to the lowa Food Bank. A nutrition label needs to be added to the bags for Fareway to sell the Bean Soup in their store. The Art Exhibition provided some income, final figures not determined yet.
 - DMWC qualifies for the 401/3c status, but requires matching funds, which is not wanted at this time.
- Marilyn Kramme spoke to the membership voicing her concern regarding the new Mission Statement. She sees the merit in shortening the statement, but objects to the clause stating the DMWC gives support to the Arts and Education. She finds this too passive. She would like to see the word "exists" changed to "enriches". Pat Henson referred this to the SPC to discuss.
- **Kathy Crall Membership VP** reported the committee contacted former members to ask them to rejoin.

The committee met April 5th to plan the Memorial Hour, and again on April 12th. The Membership Manual has been updated.

She thanked the committee for their work.

- Joann McCracken Young Corresponding VP reported between October 2019 and today 130 cards were sent to members for various reasons.
- Pat Henson asked for any questions from the members. She then proceeded to ask Toni Van Cleve, Parliamentarian, to begin installation of new Executive Board Members. The following were installated: Chris Foss, President, President-Elect Janice Cord, Communications VP Joyce Perkins, Fundraising VP Wendy Prigge, Membership VP Karen Sievers, Recording Secretary Pam Deeds, Corresponding Secretary Chris Shelton, and Treasurer Michelle Clark.
- Board of Directors: Sharon Hawthorne 2022, Sheila Bingaman 2022, Mary Ellen Imlau 2022, Carolyn Kuhn 2023, Carol Corrigan 2023, Marti Puff 2023, Cindy Lane 2024, Jean O'Neill 2024, Joann McCracken Young 2024, Rose Marie Webb 2024. Kathy Crall, Jean Shires, and Joann McCracken Young terms end May 31, 2021
- A motion was called for by Joann McCracken Young to ratify the installation of new Officers and Board, seconded by Anne Driscoll. Vote was called for by Pat Henson. Motion carried.
- Nominating Committee was thanked for choosing the new Board.
- Toni Van Cleve, Parliamentarian, stated May 31, 2021 would complete the DMWC year.
- The retiring Board was asked to stand and be recognized for their work.
- The new Executive Board and Board Members were sworn in by Toni Van Cleve. The oath was read for each Executive Officer and Board member for the 2021-2022 year with a response of "I do."
- Pat Henson was thanked for serving as President during a most unusual and difficult Club year.

Pat Henson thanked everyone for their support during this year of the pandemic.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:40 AM.

Respectfully submitted, Carol Corrigan, Recording Secretary

Memorial Hour introduced by Kathy Crall

A video of a variety of flowers was projected on the screen with accompanying music. Kathy Crall gave the opening remarks, introduced Maureen Fialkov who sang "We'll Meet Again."

Those members who passed away during the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 years were honored with roses placed in a vase by Pat Henson and Chris Foss as their pictures were shown on the screen. They were: Jo Berry, Ruth Brown, Jan Burns, Mary Lu Graves, Jeanne Hopson, Peg Minear, Marilyn Oliver, Mary Russell, Jayne Sullivan, Sara Jane Trienin, Mary Francis Van Horn, and Kathryn Wallace.

The Hour was closed by Dueling Fiddles playing "Hallelujah".

Kathy Crall closed with a poem she read.

Pat Henson closed the Memorial Hour by passing the gavel to Chris Foss.

Chris Foss, newly elected President, thanked Pat Henson and the Board for their work this past year, thanked the members who came today, and spoke about community mindedness going forward as a Club. Members were asked to get involved, and fill out Preference sheets, volunteering to help get the club restarted this next year.

Entertainment was introduced by Rosemary Hillman, and provided by the Dueling Fiddles.

The Program ended at noon. Members who ordered lunch to pick up in the parking lot were thanked for supporting this fundraiser.