DES MOINES WOMEN'S CLUB ANNUAL MEETING HOYT SHERMAN PLACE WEDNESDAY, APRIL 6, 2022, 10 a.m.

Call to order of Annual Meeting by Chris Foss at 10 a.m. when quorum of 51 members was determined.

The Board of Directors will approve the annual minutes from the May 5, 2021, meeting at the board's meeting on April 12, 2022.

Judy German, Chair of the Nominating Committee, announced that by virtue of her office, the President-elect Janice Cord will be named as President for the 2022-2023 year. She read the list of candidates for offices in the Des Moines Women's Club for the upcoming year:

President-Elect: Sherry Wilkinson Fundraising Vice President: Pam Deeds Membership Vice President: Karen Sievers Recording Secretary: Mary Ellen Imlau Corresponding Secretary: Joann McCracken Young Treasurer: Marlene Anderson Immediate Past President: Chris Foss

Directors and Term Expiration Dates

Carol Corrigan, 2023 Carolyn Kuhn, 2023 Marti Puff, 2023 Cindy Lane, 2024 Jean O'Neill, 2024 Rose Marie Webb, 2024 Judith Frank, 2025 Mary Madison, 2025 Martha Stephenson, 2025

The president asked for further nominations from the floor. There being none, and since there is only one nominee for each office, election was by voice vote. The newly elected slate of positions for the 2022-2023 year of the Des Moines Women's Club as presented, was seconded and the officers and directors were elected to serve for the 2022-2023 year.

The president introduced the newly elected officers and directors of the Des Moines Women's Club whose duties will begin June 1, 2022: Sherry Wilkinson, Pam Deeds, Karen Sievers, Mary Ellen Imlau, Joann McCracken Young, Marlene Anderson, Carol Corrigan, Carolyn Kuhn, Marti Puff, Cindy Lane, Jean O'Neill, Rose Marie Webb, Judith Frank, Mary Madison and Martha Stephenson. She thanked the members of the Nominating Committee for their work: Chair, Judy German, Co-Chair Rose Marie Webb, Carol Corrigan, Mardi Deluhery, Jane Flagler, Dale Lewis and Linda Thomas.

The president then recognized the members of this year's Executive Committee and Board of Directors who are retiring as of May 31, 2022: Past President Pat Henson, Recording Secretary Joyce Perkins, Corresponding Secretary Chris Shelton, Treasurer Michelle Clark and Directors Sheila Bingaman and Sharon Hawthorne.

Chris Foss announced the election portion of the Annual Meeting was over. Three important reports followed to help members stay informed about the club's financial health and organizational planning:

Reports

Financial Status—Finance Chair Sheila Bingaman. Sheila recognized the committee, Michelle Clark, Janice Cord, Pat Henson, Marti Puff, and Lorna Truck. She explained the club's current financial condition, its long-term financial viability, and the ongoing operations. (See report.)

Fundraising and the Annual Fund Drive—Pam Deeds and Lorna Truck. Lorna announced the annual campaign asking members who wish to give extra funds to help sustain the club's operating fund, art exhibition, and scholarships, will have the change to do that. Matching funds for the first year will be given by Lorna Truck and her husband.

Pam Deeds explained the only fundraising projects will be Hoyt Sherman soup beans, candy and nuts which may be ordered online throughout the year, and spring and holiday plant sale with Goodes Greenhouse. The club receives 10 percent of all plant sales. The spring sale will be May 2-8. There is an order form with a barcode on the website. Take it with you to order. Members may order plants, and Pam and Cindy Lane will pick them up and deliver them. They will also drive members to Goodes.

2022 Spring Report of Strategic Planning—Chair Mary Sheldahl recognized the members of the committee, Karen Sievers, Toni Van Cleve, Tammy Schroeder and Jean O'Neil, and thanked them. The chair presented a trial organizational chart for the 2023-2024 year that will consolidate some of the operations of the club. The chart shows 9 voting members; not 17. Each director will oversee club activities. The board of directors will vote on it. **(See chart.)**

The president thanked the Financial Status, Fundraising and Annual Fund Drive and Strategic Planning Committees.

The meeting adjourned at 11:30 a.m.

Respectfully submitted, Joyce Perkins, Recording Secretary